Executive directors / committee

Andrew Waller - CA(SA)


Appointed 1 March 2011 as Group Financial Director and 1 September 2018 as Group CEO. Director of local and international subsidiaries. Andrew was previously a partner of Deloitte & Touche for 15 years during which time he was responsible for several South African listed companies.

Xolani Mbambo - CA(SA)

Group Chief Financial Officer

Appointed CFO Grindrod Freight Services in 2013 and Group Financial Director effective 1 September 2018. Director of various local and international subsidiaries. Prior to joining Grindrod, Xolani spent over a decade with Anglo American in various finance roles at its corporate offices in South Africa, Botswana and United Kingdom.

David Polkinghorne - BCom; MA(OXON)

CEO - Financial Services

Appointed 22 November 2006 as Managing Director of Grindrod Bank Limited and Executive Director of all the Financial Services Division group companies. Director of companies and trustee of various charitable trusts and foundations. Chairman of the Grindrod Pension and Grindrod Provident Funds. David has been involved in the financial services sector for more than 25 years. He has had exposure to all areas of corporate and investment banking and, in particular, has extensive experience in commercial property finance, private equity and corporate finance. He has 16 years’ service with the group.

Non-executive directors

Michael Hankinson - CA(SA)


Appointed December 2009. Chairman of the Spar Group Limited. Non-Executive Director of Illovo Sugar Limited. Mike is a former Chief Executive of Dunlop Tyres International (Pty) Limited and Romatex Limited. Chairman of the nomination committee.

Mkhuseli Faku - BA(Law), MAP(Wits Business School), OPM(Harvard Business School)

Independent Non-Executive Director

Appointed 15 December 2009. Group Executive Chairman and Founder of Calulo Investments Proprietary Limited and Director of various Calulo group companies. Mkhuseli has extensive experience in the South African oil and logistics sectors and serves on the boards of Total South Africa and Rhodes University.

Grant Gelink - CA(SA); B.Compt(Hons)(Unisa); BCom(Hons)(Unisa); H Dip Education (Unisa); Dip Public Administration (Peninsula Technical College)

Independent non-executive Director

Appointed 1 January 2013. Non-Executive Director of Altron Limited, MTN Zakhele Limited, FirstRand Limited and Santam Limited. Grant has had extensive work experience with Deloitte & Touche, which spans over 26 years, and he served as Chief Executive from 2006 until his retirement from the firm in 2012.

Walter James Grindrod - .

Non-Executive Director

Appointed 23 August 2019. Walter joined the Grindrod Group in 1990 and worked across numerous Grindrod divisions covering services offered by Grindrod in warehousing and container services, road transport, marine tally, ships agency, and Unicorn coastal service. He was Executive Director for Grindrod International Freight, which later became Röhlig-Grindrod from 1999 to 2007. He was appointed head of Business Development for the Grindrod Group in 2007. Walter left Grindrod in 2017 after 27-years’ service and was appointed as a consultant to Grindrod Limited in 2018. He is currently a Director of companies and a trustee of various charitable trusts.

Ben Magara

Ben Magara - BSc(Engineering)(Hons)

Independent Non-Executive Director

Appointed 30 January 2020. Ben is a former Anglo American Executive and CEO of Anglo Coal South Africa. Ben’s most recent role was Chief Executive of Lonmin Plc. His previous Board directorships also include Chairmanship of Richards Bay Coal Terminal. He is the Founder of Africa Mining and Metals Group (AMMG) Pty Ltd.

Zola Malinga - CA(SA)

Independent Non-Executive Director

Appointed 24 October 2016. Non-Executive Director and a member of the audit committees and boards of Hospitality Property Fund Limited and Sasol Inzalo respectively and Co-Founder and Executive Director of Jade Capital Partners Proprietary Limited, an investment company founded in 2013. Zola was previously a director within the Real Estate Finance division of Standard and as a representative of Standard Bank, served on numerous boards of investee companies including, African Pioneer Limited, Matemeku Group and Imbewu Capital Partners. Zola’s professional experience is diverse and spans property finance & investments, audit, financial management, corporate finance, investment evaluation & management, corporate governance, stakeholder management, debt finance and equity finance.

Nkululeko Sowazi - BA and MA(UCLA)

Lead Independent Non-Executive Director

Appointed 25 February 2014. Chairman on the board of Litha Healthcare Holdings and currently serves as a Non-Executive Director on the boards of Idwala Industrial Holdings, Actom Holdings and Vanguard Group (Ghana). Previously served on the boards of Aveng Limited and Exxaro Resources Limited, inter alia. Nkululeko has over 15 years’ experience in investment management and has vast knowledge of and exposure to the mining, infrastructure and financial services sectors.

Petrus Johannes Uys - MSc(Engineering); MBA

Independent Non-Executive Director

Appointed 30 August 2013. Director of major local and international companies and also serves on the Remgro Management Board. Pieter is a former CEO of Vodacom Limited.

Willem van Wyk - CA(SA); B.Acc(Hons); B.Com(Hons)(Taxation)

Independent Non-Executive Alternative Director

Appointed 30 January 2020. Willem is a Chartered Accountant employed as Investment Manager at Remgro. He joined Remgro as Group Tax Manager before transferring to the Corporate Finance division.

Zimkhitha Zatu

Zimkhitha Zatu - CA(SA)

Independent Non-Executive Director

Appointed 30 January 2020. Zimkhitha is a Chartered Accountant with external audit experience in the automotive, pharmaceutical and industrial manufacturing industries and has worked with the IDC, PPC and Standard Bank. She is currently a Non-Executive Director of Sun International and Safcol SOC Ltd.